Could I be perimenopausal?

For those of you who are just beginning this wonderful process, here we can narrow down the symptoms and ask questions like "am I starting perimenopause?"

Postby Anne » Sun Dec 05, 2004 3:05 pm

:) Hi I have a lot of questions but I'll try to be brief. I am 40 years old. My mom was menopausal at 52, completely without a period. I have an anxiety disorder that I have had for a number of years. I have learned how to deal with it and I am currently taking Luvox, which keeps my anxiety under control. I am by no means a nervous, uptight person. I love my life, two GREAT kids, loving, kind husband and a close network of friends. I am an avid jogger and I am a grade two teacher. A job I adore. Lately, I have noticed that my heart speeds up. It is like I can feel it beating fast. It doesn't happen all the time and doesn't happen in situations that may cause anxiety. I have been told by several doctors that I have low blood pressure, very low, 90/60. Plus I go to bed and I am totally not tired, not all the time but maybe once every two weeks. Usually my heart is beating rapidly at the same time. Yet I don't feel anxious or worried about things. I am a very happy person, a real giggler.
Anne

Postby Zero » Mon Dec 06, 2004 10:08 am

Hi Anne! It's possible that you're starting the process (I was post-menopausal by 41/42). It's really just a matter of recognizing the symptoms (http://www.minniepauz.com/35symptoms.html) and being aware of what's going on with your body. Have you mentioned it to your doctor? Has there been any change at all in your periods?
Zero

Postby Anne » Mon Dec 06, 2004 8:08 pm

:) Hi Dee! I've noticed that my periods are coming about every 5 or 5.5 weeks, my breasts are very tender and my period will start, then stop and then come on really heavy for 1 day. After that heavy, heavy day it is light for about 2 or 3 days.
Thanks for responding. Let me know what you think.
Kendall
P.S. This is a great website, very informative.